Happy Independence Day, Philippines!

In celebration of the 119th Independence Day of the Philippines, we feature our latest Alpha queens in a Pinoy-themed banner art…

Miss Earth 2014, Jamie Herrell
Miss Earth 2015, Angelia Gabrena Ong
Miss International 2013, Bea Rose Santiago
Miss International 2016, Kylie Verzosa
Miss Universe 2015, Pia Wurtzbach
Miss World 2013, Megan Young

Kylie, Megan & Pia: Independence Day Colors

There is no more used and abused buzzword today than ‘influence’. A lofty ideal that stems from respect, aspiration and ability to make an effect, it has become muddled in the face of curation, branding and filters. This month, we get to the bottom of things and figure out what it means to be influential in this day and age, and consequently, pin it side by side with the bigger cause for celebration, pride.

A courageous queen, Kylie Verzosa steps up to the plate to make sure her reign matters. Speaking up on issues one normally shies away from, Kylie brings them out in the open and engages in a discourse that isn’t all surface level.

Years after reign as Miss World, Megan Young still reigns on in our hearts. Taking purpose well after the crown, she continues on with her advocacy, making sure every life is well accounted for. This is where true purpose begins.

And naturally, you cannot talk of beauty without Pia Wurtzbach. A celebrated Miss Universe of her time, she talks to us about life after the crown and how she plans to take life from here on out.

*Text from Mega Magazine Instagram account

PhotoCollage of the Day: Kylie Verzosa for FAIR Magazine

To call Kylie Verzosa as one of the most visible Miss International winners is an understatement. If she’s not busy in public engagements promoting her advocacy or rubbing elbows with prominent public officials on mental health awareness, she is seen glamming it up on the ramp or on the covers of magazines. Her latest cover is that of FAIR Magazine…

Lounging out at IM Hotel…

Videographer : Bella Morcen
Photographer : Rxandy Capinpin
Hair Stylist : Renz Pangilinan
MakeUp : Pong Niu
Stylist : Edz Cabral
Check out her feature on FAIR Magazine at this link: http://www.asiantvchannel.com/fair-mag/

The (Unconfirmed) Alpha Pageant Schedules

These are not yet the confirmed dates for the four Alpha Pageants but this gives us a glimpse of the possible dates to watch out for this year…

Miss Earth – October 22 or 26th (unconfirmed)
Miss International – November 14th (confirmed)
Miss World – December 2nd (unconfirmed)
Miss Universe – December 17th (unconfirmed)
Which of these four Alpha pageants are you excited to watch?

An International Update on Miss International 2016, Kylie Verzosa

Kylie Verzosa shows us when you are diligent with your job as Miss International you get to reap the rewards of your hardwork…

After her crowning as Miss International last year, the Baguio beauty has been busy with numerous public appearances and endorsements. Kylie has recently traveled to Singapore for her mental health awareness advocacy and was able to visit Singapore’s Institute of Mental Health. While in Singapore, she also paid a courtesy call to the Philippine Ambassador’s residence to talk more about the importance of mental health and how it should be treated without stigma from society. She has also just recently launched her advocacy Facebook Page: Mental Health Matters By Kylie Verzosa where she discusses more about Mental Health awareness. Kylie also recently visited Japan where she visited the cities of Kyoto and Tokoshima. She traveled there as part of her official Miss INternational duties.
But let’s not forget her recent projects and endorsements. Aside from being the Brand Ambassadress of Samsung Galaxy A, Kylie was also tapped to be the brand endorser of BAYO, a renowned local clothing brand for women. The collaboration features her go-to-designer Francis Libiran’s collection for the local retailer. Kylie was also one of the models tapped to walk the designer’s recent fashion show in Cebu.

She was also one of several beauty queens and international titleholders to have been invited at the inauguration of Hannah’s Beach Resort Premium Suites in Balaoi, Pagudpud. She was with reigning Miss Earth Katherine Espin and 2013 Miss World Megan Young. The Baguio lass was also invited to grace Bagiuo’s most celebrated flower festival. Wearing another Francis Libiran terno, she rode one of the main floats at the Panagbenga Flower Festival.
She is not yet halfway through her reign yet she already is as busy as a (queen) bee. watch out for more to come in the coming months ahead for Miss International 2016, Kylie Verzosa…

EDIT: (Ma’am Raquel Verzosa, Kylie’s mom, sent us this message and update)
I also want to share that she is active in university tours doing her advocacy on Mental Health Awareness helping the youth most especially. She has a line up of other university tours coming along. It is hectic but you will never hear her complain about it.
She was also part of the Philippine Psychiatric Association convention last January where she engaged all 400 psychiatrists from all over the Philippines with her talk about depression.
Kylie has just started and she is taking the right path in helping save lives. Truly, she is a queen whose love overflows

10 Things About Kylie Verzosa (from StarStyle.ph)

Miss International 2016 Kylie Verzosa did a shoot with StarStyle Philippines and even when we think we know much about our favorite beauty queen, she still revealed several things that we ought to know about her. In that shoot she mentioned 10 things that people don’t know about her in a video and we listed them for you…

Here is her list:
1. Every morning she meditates to clear her mind and gets her ready for the day…
2. She goes to the gym regularly with yoga, pilates, cycling and boxing…
3. Kylie, despite being a model & beauty queen, likes to eat a lot!
4. This beauty queen loves peanut butter.
5. She loves chocolates (tell us a girl who doesn’t?!?!).

6. She reads a lot on her spare time.
7. Paulo Coelho is her favorite author and “The Alchemist” is her fave from the author.
8. She has a favorite pink shirt she always wore during non-uniform Fridays back in her elementary days.
9. She grew up in Baguio City and was a Girl Scout during her school days.
10. Her first fashion show as a model was with Forever21.


Katherine, Kylie & Megan: Three Alpha Queens in Pagudpud

What does three Alpha pageant winners doing together in one photo? Well three of them were recently invited in Pagudpud…

Department of Tourism Usec Kat De Castro was among the guests at the inauguration of Hannah’s Beach Resort Premium Suites in Balaoi, Pagudpud held last weekend that also included reigning queens Miss International Kylie Versoza, Miss Earth Katherine Espin and 2013 Miss World Megan Young. And it goes to show that the Alpha queens can get along well and not in competition against each other having different advocacy. And this is not the first time as well that Kylie and Katherine are seen together in public. Last January, during the Miss Universe After party at Okada Manila, both ladies are seen together at the red carpet.

It is quite refreshing to see that at least three Alpha queens are seen together in public getting along. We just hope to see all 4 Alpha winners in one frame together in the future…