Colombia: A Renaissance in Miss Universe

Ever since I have covered the Miss Universe pageant live since 2014, one country has always been in the top 3: Colombia.

It started in 2014, when I first covered the Miss Universe pageant in Doral, Miami. In Doral I saw how Paulina Vega worked the press with her bubbly personality and charm. Then it was followed by Ariadna Gutierrez in las Vegas. She may have looked aloof by some Filipino fans but she was quite amiable when I was able to interact with her. Of course we also saw Andrea Tovar in Manila who was quite regal. Then came Laura González who, despite her overly animated facial antics, was quite a looker in person.

I have watched each of them compete live during their respective finals. Luck seems to be on their side nowadays compared to the 90’s when they sent gorgeous ladies that always ended up as bridesmaids: Paola Turbay, Paula Andrea Betancourt & Carolina Gomez (1992-1994). The 2000’s wasn’t short of lovely Colombianas as well with Valerie Tarud, Catalina Acosta and Taliana Vargas making a dent in the competition but not making enough damage to romp with the Miss Universe title.
If they manage to make it to top 3 once again this 2018 when I cover the pageant, I’m starting to think that I might be the lucky charm of Colombia in MU…lols…

Leave a comment