Miss Universe Jamaica 2017 Davina Bennett: the Girl with a Backstory

Another curly-haired, bronze-skinned beauty has been selected to represent her country in Miss Universe this year! 23-year-old beauty Davina Bennett was crowned as winner of the Miss Universe Jamaica pageant held last August 26th.

Standing tall at 5’9 1/2″, Davina is a survivor having been diagnosed with a ruptured ovarian cyst at the young age of 21. On top of that, she tried three times to go international with her modelling career with no success. It was also during that time that she lost her grandmother while being away from her home. She also survived a mugging two days before her birthday, where she was robbed of her belongings and was held up with a gun. Despite that she still was able to find good in life.
In an interview with the Jamaican Observer, she says “I have been through a lot of struggles, but I worked really hard and just to see that it has all paid off feels great. It is really a blessing and I am really grateful to all my supporters. Fashion modelling was not really going my way, so I decided to take another route to get my voice and message out there. I see the Miss Universe platform as being a great way to spread the word about my foundation for the deaf.” The Davina Bennett Foundation for the Deaf aims to transform how deaf persons are perceived and integrated into society.

Davina is an interesting subject to write and talk about. I am positively sure that she will be bringing much more than just mere good looks into the Miss Universe pageant. So keep an eye on this lady, my gut tells me that she will be up there among the semi-finalists this year…

SOURCES:
* http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/outlook/20170730/beyond-call-beauty-davina-bennett
* http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/entertainment/davina-bennett-is-miss-universe-ja-miss-universe-jamaica-davina-bennett-is-miss-universe-jamaica_109131?profile=1606

Leave a Reply

