Rachel Peters & Why Pinoy Pageant Fans should Chillax

I have a bone to pick with some of our kababayans who would just love to criticize without offering any helpful tips or advise. When Rachel Peter’s MetroMag.Ph article and several of the behind the scenes photos of her pictorial was made available to the public, a lot of naysayers immediately had something negative to say.

Here’s my take on those…
1. There are comments from Pinoy fans saying “she still doesn’t have the spark”, “parang may kulang”, “mukhang tumanda”, “not looking fresh”, etc… Rachel is not as photogenic like other girls in her BBP batch. Well fact is even the reigning Miss Universe Iris Mittenaere isn’t that photogenic as well. Which means that these girls look better in person. Trust me when I say that the judges won’t be looking at stationary glam-shot photos of the girls and select the winner just by their pictures. Lemme ask you one thing, how many Miss Photogenic winners eventually become Miss Universe? Not even 10% of them do, in fact only 4 of them actually became MU. Yes, that’s 4 out of 65…

2. Comments comparing how her camp Kagandahang Flores isn’t training her enough or isn’t preparing her is just bull. With all due respect, before you criticize, know first that Rachel’s official training doesn’t start until next month. Why is that? Because she is still busy with public appearances that is part of her duties as Miss Universe Philippines. And please stop with the comparison how KF and A&Q train their girls. We don’t want a camp war when we already have a rep selected for MU. 
3. Rachel still has 4 months to prepare for the MU pageant. Add to that is the year-long preparations she made for Binibining Pilipinas. There isn’t anything major for her to do in terms of body transformation as she is in tip-top shape. If you haven’t seen her swimsuit pictorial then head over to her IG account and look for yourself. Styling can easily be done within the 3-4 months timeframe. Surely with these photoshoots around she is experimenting makeup looks for her together with her personal glamsquad and KF camp.

To assuage your fears, I was able to ask Rachel personally about her preparations weeks ago and here is what she had to say:
“Hi Jesson, I’ve been well thank you. Thoroughly enjoying my reign and of course all the appearances and guestings we’ve been doing thus far! Still can’t believe it but I’m so grateful for the opportunities coming my way!
I get asked how I’m dealing with the pressure quite often and I always say (truthfully) that I’m actually not feeling much pressure at this point in time. I’m still so overwhelmed and excited about everything that’s been happening to me and I really want to enjoy it and take it all in. I think it’s important to go into the pageant with a very positive mindset so I’ll just keep training, doing my best and try not to stress myself out by comparing myself to the queens before me or to the girls I’m competing against. After all, my advocacy is all about celebrating ones individuality 😉”
There is no need to panic. So chillax people, she got this…

Leave a Reply

