Why is Mariam Habach’s Non-Inclusion Painful

Hers was a sash that we all thought was a formidable one in any beauty pageant. But we were all left in shock seeing her miss the first cut in the recent Miss Universe pageant.

Mariam Habach is easily one of the frontrunners in the 65th Miss Universe pageant and to see her not being called among the semi-finalist was a clear unadulterated shock. For her country, a powerhouse at that, to miss the semis despite a strong showing at the preliminaries only gave the rumors that the preliminary interview accounts for a heavy portion of the scores. In a report by ABSCBN News, pageant judge Francine LeFrak said that “the judges thought Habach lacked confidence during the preliminary interviews”. Such statement only strengthened the belief that the interviews accounted for at least 50% of their preliminary scores.
Mariam may have performed well in the SS and EG rounds but her interview probably costed her a spot.
Her message on social media/ Instagram as below:

An experience that I will never forget, I love the Filipinos thanks for so much support your love was indispensable for my participation! VENEZUELA MY BELOVED LAND, thank you for allowing me to leave your name very high, worked so much to make you feel proud, the results were not what expected, gave the best of my journey, my soul and life during those 20 days !! God will have something better for me, my life will continue, I will not leave, I will continue in this world in what God has for me! I love you all! Thank you for so much support I will carry you in my heart forever … I will continue to work… (translated from Spanish)

What makes this non-inclusion painful was the realization that no powerhouse country is safe from being cut from the semis…including the Philippines. We could be what Venezuela was this year. But hope springs eternal, as there is always next year to bounce back…

3 thoughts on “Why is Mariam Habach’s Non-Inclusion Painful”

Leave a Reply

